Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Fermanagh Herald Awards

Congratulations to our U15 girls Rugby team who won the Fermanagh Herald School Team of the Year Award on Friday 8th February 2019. Our U15 Girls team travelled to Energia Park, Dublin on Weds 7th October. Following their unbeaten record in the Ulster Qualifying Blitz they joined the two best teams from each of the four Provinces to compete in the All Ireland Finals day.

First up were Munster Champions Rockwell College from Tipperary; Our long journey from Enniskillen maybe contributed to our slow start and we found ourselves two tries down before we got in...to our stride. By half time we had brought the game back level but a speedy and well drilled Rockwell side pulled away again in the second half eventually winning 5 tries to 3.

The team quickly put this defeat behind them and won both their remaining pool games. In a tense physical encounter, they beat Leinster Champions King’s Hospital from Dublin 2 tries to 1 and knowing they now had a chance to qualify for the Plate Final they convincingly beat Connacht Champions, Clifden Community College, Galway 9 tries to 1.

In the plate final they met Munster team St Anne’s Community School from Co. Limerick. The two teams were evenly matched and were tied 2 tries a piece when the final hooter sounded. In extra time St. Anne’s were camped on our line and only exceptionally committed defence kept them from scoring. We eventually turned the ball over and swept down the pitch with a series of strong carries, clinical clear-outs and accurate passes to score in the corner! The final whistle went to jubilant scenes and the team were presented with their trophy and medals by the Irish Women’s Rugby 7s Captain Lucy Mulhall.

Squad on the day: Samantha Armalyte, Hope Milligan, Sorcha McGovern, Leja Sidlauskaite (Year 10) and Cora Balfour, Sophie Barrett, Kelly Quinn, Naoise Whitely, Moya Hill and Ciara Woods (Year 11).